Join Early Retirement Today

"Where do you work?"
Old 06-14-2004, 12:01 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

"Where do you work?"

New answers for the incessant question:

"I don't." Presumption is that you're unemployed, and the subject quickly changes or the conversation terminates. The burden of the decision is on the interrogator, who may just decide to leave you alone now. Or you may have to read further for other answers...

"At home." Presumption is that you're (1) unemployed, (2) an at-home parent, (3) a sadly deluded victim of the work-at-home industry, or (4) a combination of the above. The subject quickly changes or you'll be left alone.

"I'm an at-home parent." Conversation quickly darts away from unemployment to the joys of raising children.

"Oh, I spend most of my time surfing or fixing up my house." See "I don't", but now the conversation can move to surfing or home improvement.

"I'm a writer." You must not be able to hold a real job, but at least you can hold up your end of the book club.

"I'm taking care of (my wife's parents)(our family investments)(our rental property)." You're still an unemployed bum, but now you have a purpose in life that's worth discussing.

FWIW, my interrogator eventually brought up the fact that he worked in a shipyard. I mentioned that I'd been in the Navy, and we had quite an enjoyable conversation about shipyards, our families, and that other eternal question-- "But waddya DO all day?!?".

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!