26 and wanting to retire in 4 years???

BrucePSD

Confused about dryer sheets
I am a Security contractor in iraq right now..and able to save 8,000 a month. I am paying off a piece of property which i owe 25,000 on. (i plan to build a house on it in the future) Does anyone have any reccomendations on what i should do with my money? My goal is to retire with an income of 1000 a month.

BrucePSD said:
I am a Security contractor in iraq right now..and able to save 8,000 a month. I am paying off a piece of property which i owe 25,000 on. (i plan to build a house on it in the future) Does anyone have any reccomendations on what i should do with my money? My goal is to retire with an income of 1000 a month.

$1,000 a month? I would be very interested in learning more.

JG

BrucePSD said:

Just keep saving. I don't know how you plan on retiring at 30 and living on $1000 a month for the next 60 years.

You need to do a realistic budget and multiply that realistic budget by 25 or 30 to figure out what you really need to have saved before retiring.

$8000 savings a month for 9 years at 6% return will give you just over $1mil. That's probably the zone you want to be in. You'd be 35 by then. Not a bad retirement age.

You can certainly meet your goal of $1,000 per month in four years ($8,000 * 12 *4 -$25,000 = $359,000 (plus investment income). With a 4% SWR that's $1,197 per month.

The question is whether you (as a 30-year-old) can really live on $1,000 per month.

I have heard the poppies are quite beautiful in Afghanistan this time of year....

You could probably live in IRAQ for $1K / month

Although your time may be limited

26 and wanting to retire in 4 years...and I thought I was being ambitious

I have heard the poppies are quite beautiful in Afghanistan this time of year...

Didn't read that in my travel guide