401K Question

geeman

Recycles dryer sheets
I am interested in opening a 401K account with my employer. I am new to investing so I wanted some opinions on the investment options. I don't expect you guys to do any research for me, but if you see anything in the list that looks good please let me know. I am 22 so I will be in this for the long haul.

Profile Series:
Maxim Aggressive Profile II
Maxim Moderate Profile II
Maxim Conservative Profile II

International Funds:
Oakmark International II
American Funds EuroPacific R3
Oppenheimer Global A

Small Cap Funds:
Maxim Ariel Small-Cap Value
Maxim Index 600
RS Diversified Growth

Mid Cap Value:
Lord Abbett Mid-Cap Value A
Ariel Appreciation
Fidelity Advisor Mid Cap T

Large Cap Funds:
Maxim T. Rowe Price Equity Income
American Funds Wash Mutual R3
Maxim S&P 500 Index
STI Classic Capital Appreciation Trust
Marsico Focus
Oppenheimer Capital Appreciation A

Any comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Without looking at any of the funds, I think the best thing to do would be to 8):

(1) Own 100% equities at least for the next 20 - 30 years.

(2) Diversify with large / small capitalization companies; domestic / international; value / growth.

(3) Lower expenses are better than higher expenses unless there is a real compelling reason to pay those higher expenses (like a manager with a long track record of exceptional returns); expenses directly reduce your returns. Go with index funds if they are offered.

(4) If your company gives you stock, that is good. However do not purchase additional company stock for your 401(k). If you do, you will not be properly diversified in your 401(k). If your company has financial problems, not only can you lose all your stock (think Enron) you may be out of a job also; a double hit.