Annuity vs 4% rule

lazysundays

Dryer sheet aficionado
I'm super noob here so bear with me.

This weekend my FIL was telling me his colleagues are talking about an annuity where they put $400,000 down and get a guaranteed $2500 income for his and spouse's lifetime.

I tried to see if this was a good deal and used an online calc that allowed me to figure our the monthly payout per month. Conservative number said 2999 per month, aggressive said 3500 or more. Don't remember. That calculator was oversimplified anyway.

So now I apply the 4% rule (just read the article) since it pretty much guarantees not dying broke, and take that same $400,000, withdraw 4% 1st year, and I get $1333 income per month. So why wouldn't I choose the annuity with almost double guaranteed income until death?

The company keeps it. They bought the annuity. The original amount has been spent.

If I'm not aiming to give to heirs why not just pick the annuity?

$1,333 first month and adjusted for inflation thereafter. Annuity gets no inflation increase.

1333 for first Year* and what if inflation only allows me to up it to 1500/mo following year. I'm still feeling young and want to travel. Why wouldn't I pick the 2500? What if the annuity had a rider that let me get extra income if the stocks are doing well?

I didn't even know age mattered. Thought it was fixed. These are men in early 60s discussing this. I think it was a prudential plan.

Use the gain from the $400,000 to go on vacation. Meanwhile person with annuity can only go on $2,500 vacation. Wait no he can't, inflation is eating away his income.

So while I was reading the 4% article it said the 4 only mattered the first year. I have no concept. What % will it be adjusted to for inflation? 5, 6 8% ?

I am to clueless to deliver a pitch. I just learned today that what FIL was referring to was an annuity.