Join Early Retirement Today

Annuity vs 4% rule
Old 04-23-2014, 10:28 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Annuity vs 4% rule

I'm super noob here so bear with me.

This weekend my FIL was telling me his colleagues are talking about an annuity where they put $400,000 down and get a guaranteed $2500 income for his and spouse's lifetime.

I tried to see if this was a good deal and used an online calc that allowed me to figure our the monthly payout per month. Conservative number said 2999 per month, aggressive said 3500 or more. Don't remember. That calculator was oversimplified anyway.

So now I apply the 4% rule (just read the article) since it pretty much guarantees not dying broke, and take that same $400,000, withdraw 4% 1st year, and I get $1333 income per month. So why wouldn't I choose the annuity with almost double guaranteed income until death?

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-23-2014, 10:33 PM   #2
Dryer sheet aficionado

If they die, what happens to the $400K?

Old 04-23-2014, 10:35 PM   #3
Dryer sheet aficionado