boss dilema

vic

Recycles dryer sheets
My boss is a real *******. He is 100% in control of everything I do and think. If I come up with something smart, it will be shut down instantly because it is not his idea. Anything that I do is assigned by him. I am not allowed to help out my colleagues unless he has approved of it. Any conclusion or result I come up with has to be approved by him otherwise it will be ridiculed. Now, the good thing about my boss is that he is dumb as a rock. At the beginning of the week, he assigns me some fluff stuff and I am usually done the next day. For the rest of the week I can surf on the internet or stare at the wall and go home on time.

However, I am so sick of this idiot constantly putting me down and doing the exact same monkey stuff (including data entry - I am an engineer). Without his approval I have started working with a lot of other people. The only huge drawback is that this is done partially after I have done my 40 hours/week. But I am getting enthusiastic again about what I am doing. The core of my job is actually very interesting but the way my boss shapes my week turns it into complete drudgery.

Problem is that my boss found out and was screaming at me over the phone that I only work for him and tatadatada. After he started pushing with do you understand? say ok, do you understand? say ok, do you understand? say ok. etc. on the phone, I had enough and hung up on him.

I am about to puke all over the *******. I am always trying to just treat this as a j-o-b and then go home. However, if you have to go through the constant humiliation and boredom, it does get to you.