Burn Out!

ATC Guy

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello all. I've been have a struggle the last few months. I feel completely demotivated for work. My stress level is high and there doesn't appear to be any relief in sight. I'm only 26! I am a military officer in charge of a 70 person unit. I took a week off last week thinking that may help but getting back to work this week only proved more difficult.

I plan to separate from service late next year to pursue air traffic control in the civilian world. Sort of adding to my stress is the uncertainty of that career field lately with sequestration and an overall halt to hiring. ATC is my dream job. I do very little of it now and more control a desk and a conference room than anything else. I have zero job satisfaction.

In the meantime I feel trapped in a job/leadership role that I can't seem to dig up even the slightest motivation for these days. I mostly push papers and run/attend meetings all day. Stress is carrying over into my home life as my wife would attest to.

The reason for this post is to see if anyone has suggestions to get out of this funk? Late next year feels like 20 years away right now. I know I just need to suck it up, but I've been trying that for months as it is. Any advice?

What helped me was planning for the exit, focusing on what I needed to be prepared to leave.

It is hard for me to imagine having a 70-person span of control. Perhaps you should look for immediate subordinates to carry some of that load.

Assuming you have a decent amount of leave, take shorter amounts more often. Try taking every Friday off for a three day weekend (don't leave the area, just take one day off). If a lot of your employees are civilian, you might not miss too much anyway since many of them will be furloughed. It is much easier to stay motivated for a shorter workweek. When you do go into work on Monday morning, you can tell yourself if you survive 3.5 days, you'll get 3.5 days off.

All the best.
R,
LB