Career advice for DW and I

laurence

Moderator Emeritus
So DW and I have worked out a pretty plumb situation. She makes $65/hour for 25-30 hours a week, working one day in the office and the rest from home. So she's essentially a stay at home mom to our 5 and (almost) 3 year old. She gets up at 4 to get work done before they wake up, and stays up a couple hours past their bedtime, so it's not easy, but she loves it.

I am an IT security manager with a small team under me and total autonomy. I make $105k a year with middle of the road benefits for mega-corp (non-cola pension, 4% 401k match, etc.). The best benefit I have is my company operates on a 9/80 schedule, so I get every other Friday off.

My company has had several rounds of layoffs over the last 18 months, supposedly I'm safe but work is stressful due to the dread filled atmosphere (those of you who have been through layoffs know what I mean). Meanwhile I've been getting some tips from former and current coworkers that my skill set is in demand elsewhere ( I have a Masters in my field, CISSP, etc. etc. and about 14 years experience in various parts of IT and IT security). I kind of just shrugged until one req I was handed listed my exact skillset and said "$120k+" so that had me thinking.

Meanwhile DW has an old boss who's a VP at another company trying to recruit her. He pays her $80/hour for about 10 hours of work a month on the side right now, and he asked her if she'd be willing to leave her current gig and work for him at "at least $80/hour" for 30 hours a week with the same mostly work from home arrangement. She's also got her Masters and has a real science background - she works in Biotech.

Last bit of info...drum roll please....we have our 3rd (and final) child on the way now, due late November-ish! This is all sloshing in our head and making us think.