Join Early Retirement Today

Dex Fails
Old 05-18-2009, 10:29 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Dex Fails

I know what you're thinking - Say it ain't so!
Yes, I failed at getting to the top of the mountain. I started hiking at 7:30am and got back at 4pm. According to the book this mountain's peak is 7.0 miles round trip and 4,300ft elevation gain. Doesn't sound like much; does it.
Well it is the last mile or so that is the killer (I'm not good at judging distances and the pictures don't give you a good idea.
The first picture is from where I stopped and turned around - I'd guess at 13,500ft.

Now you're saying come on Dex it is only another 700ft of altitude gain to the top. Well time wise it would take me about 1.5hrs to get to the top. The air is thin, my waistline is thick and I'm a bit out of shape from waiting for my collar bone to heal.

The second photo is the goal. If there were people in the snow fields on the left; you could not see them - they are still far away.

So I failed. But then again The mountain isn't going anywhere and I have the time to make more attempts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF1633.JPG (626.9 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF1630.JPG (635.7 KB, 18 views)

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!