Dex Fails

dex

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I know what you're thinking - Say it ain't so!
Yes, I failed at getting to the top of the mountain. I started hiking at 7:30am and got back at 4pm. According to the book this mountain's peak is 7.0 miles round trip and 4,300ft elevation gain. Doesn't sound like much; does it.
Well it is the last mile or so that is the killer (I'm not good at judging distances and the pictures don't give you a good idea.
The first picture is from where I stopped and turned around - I'd guess at 13,500ft.

Now you're saying come on Dex it is only another 700ft of altitude gain to the top. Well time wise it would take me about 1.5hrs to get to the top. The air is thin, my waistline is thick and I'm a bit out of shape from waiting for my collar bone to heal.

The second photo is the goal. If there were people in the snow fields on the left; you could not see them - they are still far away.

So I failed. But then again The mountain isn't going anywhere and I have the time to make more attempts.

Attachments

• DSCF1633.JPG
    DSCF1633.JPG
    626.9 KB · Views: 19
  • DSCF1630.JPG
    DSCF1630.JPG
    635.7 KB · Views: 18
You didn't fail, you're just taking it in stages.......:)

I think you succeeded. I question whether I could do a hike that gains as much elevation as your's did.

"Failing" would be falling off the mountain :)

In this case, you live to climb another day, and you get to make all of us working stiffs jealous whilst we're sitting at our desks, so I think that qualifies as success - enjoy!

Wow, 7m roundtrip with +4300'. Thats a 23% average grade up. The steepest I remember hiking is the side route up Mt Baldy, 20% for 4 miles (in my much younger days). Which peak is this ?

My first 2 failures (both in the Sierra) were Olancha Peak (too steep at the top) and Red Mountain (feet torn up on the approach), each less than 1/2 mile from the top.