Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Disability Insurance - any thoughts/recommendation?
Old 05-15-2008, 05:40 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Disability Insurance - any thoughts/recommendation?

Been reading Insurance for Dummies and they said that the one insurance that no one ever really goes for is this one. They said there is about a 33% chance you will be disabled from working for some reason or other (possibly long-term), so this got me thinking a lot about my assets, etc...

I'm not yet 40, but in terms of what I do for a living, I am at risk for this.

Do folks have good experiences with purchasing this kind of insurance? I'm still learning...

Thanks!
wilkens21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-15-2008, 06:24 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

I had 2 policies in place since 1982. This year I let them lapse do to ER last year.
I did have the best experience with my policies, I never had to use them.