Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Entrepreneurial ideas - controlling your own destiny
Old 03-03-2013, 03:56 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Entrepreneurial ideas - controlling your own destiny

Hello,

I have lately been considering entrepreneurial ideas in place of working for "megacorp" until retirement. As some of you may recall, I recently posted about some money I inherited. This money, combined with my personal savings, amounts to about $280,000.

I am 23 years old. I consider myself fairly astute, observant, and analytical. I come from a family of entrepreneurs (which is how/why I inherited the money I did).

Before I graduated college, I had this drive and energy about entering "the business world". Since I've started working, I've learned that (generally speaking), as long as you work for someone else, you will/should do your job the way they want you to, not what you think is best. I've received positive performance reviews, but just drag on the thought of going to work and being micro-managed.

I know this sounds superficial since it kind of "goes with my story", but it is true: when I want something bad enough, I will go to many extremes to get what I want. When I was looking for jobs before I graduated, I was so motivated and was one of my only friends to get a job.

I think if I were to start my own business I would be much happier in the long run. I like earning money and staying busy/sharp ("working"), but I don't like doing it on others terms. I think this is why I am intrigued by the idea of "early retirement".

If any of you were in my shoes (with a $280K net worth at 23 - with no family, debts, or other financial obligations), what would you do?

I've thought so much about these scenarios lately that it is somewhat sickening. I've concluded that the main two paths for me are: