Join Early Retirement Today

Help a noob
Old 09-12-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Help a noob

I am new on this forum. I hope I can find people to advise me on how I can reach FIRE. Here is my situation:

I am 32 with
Cash: 35k
Real Estate: 240k
Emergency Fund: 45k
Student Loan: -25.8K
Mortgage Debt: -120k
Therefore NW = 174k

Monthly income = 6.6k
Monthly expenses = 3.6k
Monthly savings = 3k

When do you think I can reach FIRE? How much do I need to FIRE?

I am not sure how to invest my cash and future savings. Friends tell me to put 15k per year in 401k, it is my first year working in the US, so I am discovering that possibility. But I also want to have available cash in case I find a good real estate or business opportunities.

Thanks for commenting
Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-12-2008, 08:18 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...