Join Early Retirement Today

Help me choose between 2 offers
Old 03-05-2008, 09:11 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Help me choose between 2 offers

I'm currently employed as an actuarial analyst for a pension consulting firm. The work is a bit boring (accounting stuff) and including travel time it takes up 55-60 hrs/wk. If any of you are familiar with the actuarial career, you will know that I'm also studying my butt off for exams, which takes another 15-20 hrs/wk during exam season.

I recently received 2 offers, here is a break down:
  1. Life insurance - Product design analyst
    Pros:
    • Total time ~45 hrs/wk including travel time.
    • Creative work
    • Lots of programming, which I enjoy
    • Relaxed culture, family feel when I interviewed there
    Cons:
    • Slight pay cut (-$1,800/yr) but bigger bonus so it's a wash
    • No rotation program between different actuarial departments (annuities, reserving, investments)
  2. Property and Casualty (P&C) Insurance - Home Insurance Pricing Analyst
    Pros:
    • Mega Co., lots of room for growth
    • P&C has the highest job satisfaction out of all of the actuarial fields
    • Pay raise (+ 5%)
    • Good rotation program, rotate every 1.5 years between depts
    • Creative and more mathematical work
    Cons:
    • 60+ hrs/wk because of travel time (extreme commute, 3.5+ hrs/day)
    • Cut-throat business culture
    • Strict exam policy, if you don't pass you get a notice of termination
    • Greater number of and more difficult exams
If you had to choose between the 2, which one would you go with?
success108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!