Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hope for those who likely will have no pension?
Old 03-03-2004, 08:01 AM   #1

Hope for those who likely will have no pension?

Hi there.. I am a not so super young dreamer.. 33.. I have a good job (but am at significant risk of being laid off this month). I work in IT and have never qualified for the pension. If I am laid off, it will be 3 months prior to qualifying for a pension. I have been laid off 4 times prior to qualifying for a pension. History and the experience of my friends is making me think that I likely will never qualify for a pension.

Facts

I make $90k
401k $44000
Regular IRA $28000
Taxable investments $14000
Roth $4,200
Savings $15,000
Equity in house. approx $45,000
I am thinking of investing in real estate but still researching that..

I attempt to save or pay down debt (my mortgage. I have no other debt) to the tune of 30% of my gross.

Questions

1. How do I know how much I need to retire on? Most calculators say $2.1 million. Should I go by that?
2. Do you think it makes sense to pursue a civil service job for the pension benefits?
3. And what other things can I do? I am not married. I own a house

Is there anyone else out there who is dealing with the probable no pension issue?? Should I look into annuities as I get closer to retirement to have a monthly income??
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!