Investing for my children

xray328

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi noob here.

I was considering starting an early retirement account for my kids (4 and 7). I was just playing the numbers today based on $100 a month, and I was shocked at the value of the account (in a good way).

I know I should be thinking about my retirement first, which I am, but I want to start a financial road for my kids and grandkids.

Any recommendations for a mutual fund to get into that allows a minimal initial investment with monthly transfers?

Thanks in advance!

I do not have any funds to recommend but, somehow "teach them to fish" comes to mind. Future education fund?

They both have 529's already established.

I just can't get past the "time" part of investing. I'm trying to take advantage of compounding interest. When I look at $50/paycheck for 58 years at a 10% return...:eek:

They both have 529's already established.

I just can't get past the "time" part of investing. I'm trying to take advantage of compounding interest. When I look at $50/paycheck for 58 years at a 10% return...:eek:

How about custodial accounts?

After looking into it, my concern would be having to turn it over to them at 21, and not being able to turn it over to the other child in the event of a death of the first child.

After looking into it, my concern would be having to turn it over to them at 21, and not being able to turn it over to the other child in the event of a death of the first child.

Well, "technically", how would they know you HAVE said accounts??

Good point. Any funds out there that would work well in this situation? I was considering:

Vanguard Total Stock Market Index

T. Rowe Price Spectrum Growth

USAA First Start Growth

I thought about establishing a separate account for my son, both for education and for savings.