Looking for advice.

Videonut85

Confused about dryer sheets
I could use some advice.

I work as a custodian making 40k per year for a school district. I contribute 7.5% of my income to the district's pension plan and the school and state match my contributions together for another 7.5%. I have $22,000 in a savings account at 3% APY. I currently own my car, I have no CC debt (except what I charge each month, but I pay it off every month.) I have plans on getting married within the next year or so. I will be leaving my job in about 3 years (after I am fully vested in the retirement program) to move from Pennsylvannia to somewhere south closer to the beach. I will be looking to buy a house (or condo) once I'm out of state. I'm wondering what I should do with my money in the mean time. I've been toying with the idea of putting 5k into a Roth IRA every year starting now. Is this a good move? What else should I be doing with my money? After bills and all expenses, I can save about another 1100 each month.

I think putting some into a Roth is a great idea. However, if you want to use some of that money as a down payment, you probably should keep it in the savings account (or in CDs) since you have a short time (3+ years) before buying something.

I agree. I have been burned trying to put short term money in stocks (even SPY).

Put it in CD's that pay better than the savings account or some other guaranteed fixed return investment.

-Raymond

Videonut, it isn't clear if the pension plan that you contribute to is a 403(b) or a defined benefits plan. If it is a 403(b) I would advise you to understand what investments you have and what ongoing expenses are charged. Some of these plans are needlessly expensive and can sap a lot of your nest egg off over the years. There are actions that you can take to minimize the expenses charged, but the first step is to understand what they are.