Join Early Retirement Today

Mechanical Engineer - work or be a stay at home mom?
Old 02-04-2013, 08:49 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Mechanical Engineer - work or be a stay at home mom?

I am a 27 female professional. My goal is to accumulate enough money so that I can choose what I want to do in life rather being tied to a job.

However, I am facing with a dilemma of becoming a stay at home mom.

I plan to have 4 children (I m very firm on this), since my fiancé and I are orphans, so having a family is our dream.
However, due to my health, I don’t think I will have the energy to work full time and take care of 4 kids!

If I quit my job, I feel like I am wasting my degrees and education (Masters in Mechanical Engineer and BS in Biomedical Engineer). I also feel “lazy/useless/lack of motivations” (not sure what the right word to use...) if I just stay at home to raise my children.

I plan to go back to work once the youngest child goes to school. However I know the difficulty of getting back to work, especially in engineering if you have been out for a while. However, I don’t mind this too much as I am willing to work at any job/salary as long as it will allow me to max out my 401K & Roth.

Our financial
1. Retirement 401K & ROTH (250K)
2.House paid off (175K)
3.Her income (75K)
4.His income (85K)
5.Emergency savings (40K)
6.No debt

So far, we have a strong start and however if I stop working and we began to live on ONE-INCOME our WEALTH-BUILDING goals will be greatly severed.

If I decided to stay at home (at the start of 2014), I can no longer contribute to my 401K, however we still plan to save for retirement and live as follow:
1.Max out his Roth IRA
2.Max out his 401K & 457(b) = 35K/year
3.Max out my spousal Roth IRA
4.Save 10K per year outside of retirement
5.Live frugally on 15K-20K per year

Maybe people here can give me on some advises?
Is there a way to balance it all? Stay at home, have a still career and build wealth?

Thanks