Join Early Retirement Today

Need Guidance From The Pros
Old 09-14-2004, 05:27 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Need Guidance From The Pros

I've been lurking on this (and other) RE board for years now, but early retirement remains illusive. I'd appreciate any and all feedback on my situation:

Married 12 years, two sons (ages 4 & 9). I'm 39, my wife is 33. I've been working for county gov't for three years now - have $5K in pension, will become 100% vested at 5 years, can get full pension after 20 years. No health benefits upon retirement. I make $34,500/yr, my wife works PT as an assistant preschool teacher (full time mom-unpaid) and makes about $4K/yr.

I have $1K in a 457 plan thru work in addition to pension. Also have $8K in a Roth IRA. No additional savings.

Only debt is our house. We are 15 years into our 30 mortgage and have $55,000 remaining.

I think I would be good at ER and would like to try my hand at it as soon as possible. Any thoughts?
trailblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!