Join Early Retirement Today

Need Help Picking My 401K Options
Old 01-16-2006, 06:01 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Need Help Picking My 401K Options

First of all, greetings to everyone. I am new here and plan on being around for a long time. I'm trying to take the right steps to have an early retirement and to have some nice money available when I retire.

However, I'm new to all of this. And while I have done alot of reading, there are still a ton of things that I don't fully understand yet.

Right now, I am faced with choosing which Investment Options to go with and what percentages for my job's 401K offering. I could certainly use a little help.

The page says my choices are:

Maxim Aggressive Profile II
Maxim Moderate Profile II
Maxim Conservative Profile II
Oakmark International II
American Funds EuroPacific R3
Oppenheimer Global A
Maxim Ariel Small-Cap Value
Maxim Index 600
STI Classic Small Cap Growth Fund I
Lord Abbett Mid-Cap Value A
Ariel Appreciation
Fidelity Advisor Mid Cap T
Maxim T. Rowe Price Equity Income
American Funds Wash Mutual R3
Maxim S&P 500 Index
STI Classic Capital Appreciation I
Marsico Focus
Oppenheimer Capital Appreciation A
Maxim Bond Index
Maxim Loomis Sayles Bond Portfolio
Maxim US Government Mortgage Securities
PIMCO Total Return Admin
Guaranteed Portfolio Fund

Of course it says it needs to total 100%.

Can someone please give me some ideas as to what is good and what percentages to list ?

I asked a few other places and it seems it's a question nobody wants to answer. I know it is investing and maybe people don't want to feel like they're gonna make you lose money but....

I just want to know what to go with since I have no idea and they need me to turn this in within the next 2 days.

I appreciate it.
ChillEarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!