Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Need some Advice for a 22 y/o recent graduate!
Old 06-15-2014, 10:33 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Need some Advice for a 22 y/o recent graduate!

Hello All,

This is my first post on the forum after lurking for a while! I will say, I've been on a real personal finance and ER kick lately, but seeing what some of yall have accomplished has only increased my interest in FI!

Apologies for the book:

So, I just graduated with a Finance/Economics degree and got a job as a licensed sales rep for a State Farm Agent while I figure out what path I would like to take. I've been working there for about 3+ months fully time. I also still work a couple nights/weekends at a restaurant to make some extra cash while I'm young and don't have a family.

So, where I'm at currently. I'm expecting to make 35-40k this year at my sales job (plus a 3k year end bonus) and another 14-17k at my restaurant job.

Currently I am about to finish maxing my IRA for this year (got a late start on my IRA last year). Unfortunately, I do not get an 401k through either of my jobs.

Here is where I'm at:

Roth IRA: Roughly $8500 (by the end of next month)
Emergency Fund (Cash) : $2200
Permanent Life Insurance: $5300 cash value
Cash: $22,000

The permanent life insurance is something my dad setup for me when I was 5 and will be done in 5 more years ($50 month) so its something I would like to hold on to as an emergency fund. I figure between the cash value in that and my actual cash emergency fund, The emergency fund is set.

I will have maxed my Roth IRA as of next month and I'm wondering what my next move is. I am wanting to buy a home in the next year or two, with that $20,000 set aside as the start of the down payment fund (eventually want to get it to $40,000).