Picking the right career

MBAVisionary

Recycles dryer sheets
I would love to start learning technical skills I could apply in the workplace. My ideal would be several different areas which would very much diversify me in the workforce.

Historically the jobs I've worked didn't require a whole lot of skills. Also the pay wasn't that great either. I majored in liberal arts, then business twice. No accounting / finance background and I'd much rather deal with concepts than numbers all day (especially taxes though I did consider taking the CPA exam at one point).

Some others have had a family member point them in the right direction as far as careers go. This was not the case for me, though completing personality surveys has demonstrated to me I excel in supporting others but also like to dive into technical areas as well.

On some level I think I have a fear of investing huge amounts of my time in an area with no guarantee of success. I also see most of the it jobs I've looked at want years of experience or at the least a mis or cs degree. I earn mid 30s now and want to reach 60s+ as I enter my 4th decade.

I work in marketing now, but growth at my current company is hard to come by (been there a year and 10 people left already) and even with a bump up I'd probably have to work another year to get an extra 5k.

IT is an area I could excel with effort though looking through long times of documentation literally puts me to sleep. I tried very unsuccessfully to get involved in ecommerce, but a strong retail background is a prerequisite there.

A big part of becoming FI is earnings and the last 12 months will be the highest I've earned in 3 years. My consumption is low overall, cell gym gas electricity Internet TV... No car pmt and not making payments now toward our mortgage as my partner does that.