Join Early Retirement Today

Retiring overseas to beat inflation
Old 01-08-2008, 10:27 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Retiring overseas to beat inflation

Hi everyone. I'm 41 years old and my husband is 45. Yes, we have been saving for our retirement and also we almost have our home payed for....bought it 15 ago..30 yr mortgage...we allocated extra payments monthly to have it payed off early. Still, considering the prices of health care and how things are going in the economy I don't see ourselves being able to retire here and live comfortably. So, we have decided that when we do retire we plan to retire to Argentina part-time to help us beat inflation. We are both Argentines and so we are at an advantage because we know the culture and the "good, the bad and the ugly" of living over there. As I studied this option of retiring over there, I have found that many Americans are (and have) retiring overseas. I have met many Americans that are now living in my country and have learned the language, the culture, and have learned to navagate the system and many say they would never come back here and definately wouldn't retire here(too expensive to come retire here). My mother who is now 71 is semi-retired....and she spends 6 months out of the year in ARgentina and lives like a queen....one US dollar gives you three Argentine pesos...and everything is much less...food, utilities...etc. SO, I was just wondering if others have consider this option and if so, to which country?....
Nanita8140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!