Join Early Retirement Today

Roth Conversion
Old 03-25-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Roth Conversion

I'm interested in converting part of my rollover IRA to my Roth, but I can't find anything that says whether this affects my contribution limits for 2008. I assume that the conversion wouldn't affect my $5000 contribution amount since the money was already contributed to a 401(k). Am I right?
Forgive, I'm still new at this.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-25-2008, 10:39 AM   #2

Roth conversions do not count toward your contribution limits. Conversions and contributions are considered as different activities.

Oh, and welcome!