Join Early Retirement Today

Saving strategy
Old 04-16-2007, 12:22 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Saving strategy

Ok,
I'm just getting going on all this planning, but I'm confused about where the RE money comes from. I'm a teacher, so I'm "expecting" a healthy pension. My "magic numbers" are 30 years in and 60 years of age. I started teaching at 30 and am planning to "buy" 5 years of sevice credit to get me to that 30 years by age 55. Then I'd like to retire and wait 5 years to file for the pension.

My question is, how I go about saving for that 5 years of ER? As I understand, my 403b, and Roth will be out of the picture until 59.5. Given my income and spending, I won't max out my 403b, Roth, and then still have After tax money to put away. Should I be skipping the Roth and opting for After tax instead? Should I be looking into this SEPP(barely know what that is)? Does SEPP even apply to 403b? I've heard that principal can be taken from a 403b without penalty...should that be considered?

How did you save your ER money (ER - 59.5)?
Thanks,
devo
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!