Join Early Retirement Today

Savings?
Old 05-25-2004, 04:40 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Savings?

Recently I started wodering about my retirement and my options. I know I am far away from retiring, but I was wondering if someone could help me out.
I am 26, working in IT field. I'v been working at the same place since I graduated from college. I am constantly being told that I need put aside more for my retirement. I am only contributing 7% and my employer is contributing 9%. I am constantly told that's not enough. I do not know anything about investing money, I don't understand most of the things you guys are talking about when it comes to retirement.
My problem is that if I contribute more to my retirement through my employer I can't have that money until I am in early 60s or so. Well, what about if I need it sooner? What is I am not intending to work until I am in my 60s. At that age there are many things you can't do any more. I would like to enjoy my life before that. I have so many interests that I would like to explore that waiting until I am in 60s just doesn't make sense. There is no way I can retire early since I know I won't have enough income. What can one do? Should I invest in something else, like mututal funds instead?
Please help, I am perplexed.
Maggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!