Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Should my parents get an annuity as advised?
Old 08-14-2008, 12:36 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Should my parents get an annuity as advised?

First of all, this is my first time posting, although I've been actively reading this site for a good 2-3 years. Thanks to all of you who provide such great analysis and posts. While I've been a "silent participant," its great having a forum such as this to enjoy a shared passion of living beneath one's means, and focusing on a FIRE lifestyle.

Anyway, this first post isn't about me, but rather my parents. I will try to give as much detail and if there are blanks, please let me know.

My parents work with an independent financial advisor who I believe is doing a pretty good job with their money. I actually met her for the first time last night as my parents want her to get to know my sister and me just to build a better working family relationship.

My parents recently sold some investment farm land in which they are netting about $300K. This brings their overall portfolio to about $1MM (a combination of 401K, IRAs, a balanced portfolio of American Funds, and stock in Exxon and Center Point Energy). Right now this $300K is sitting in a short term CD earning a modest 2.5% awaiting distribution.