Join Early Retirement Today

Strategy Needed
Old 03-31-2006, 05:47 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Strategy Needed

I am 30 year old single male that lives in MN. I am looking at my finances and wondering if I am better off investing or paying off debt.

My salary is $65k. I currently contribute 15% to a 401k and max out my Roth. My company also offers a discounted stock plan of 15% which I contribute $2k a year. I also contribute $300/month to DRIPS - MO, DUK, and PFE. I have been doing this for the last 3 years and have about $100k in assets.

I own a house, bought it 2.5 years ago. I did a piggy back loan to avoid PMI. The 30 year mortgage is at 4.875% and I have a 15 year variable that is now at 8.99% with a balance of $20k. I also have a car loan with a balance of $6k at 6.35% and student loans of $20k at 4.4%.

My new employer now picks up my education bill. I am working on an MBA and am about half way done with it. As a result of a busy schedule I have been able to cut my spending on frivolous items and can stay within a budget.

I am trying to maximize every dollar I make. What are my best options for the future? Should I reduce the 401k to the match or reduce the stock investiments to pay off the variable rate loan. SHould I stay the course?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Jas2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!