Join Early Retirement Today

Suddenly, money! What do we do?
Old 06-26-2013, 01:48 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Suddenly, money! What do we do?

Hello all, I'm pretty new to the investment and money management game as my salary is only modest and can't really do much more than dump what I can into a 401k. My girlfriend of 1.5 years (and probable wife given our age of 29) just got a rather sizeable payment from a trust fund, far more than we both expected. And so, I don't know what in the world to advise her to do with it. She is really bad with money management and has asked for some guidance. I've come here in hope of finding some sort of starting point. My initial reaction was to take her to a financial advisor at Edward Jones, but after looking at their service fees, I'm not so thrilled with that option. So I thought I'd try laying out my situation to you all as even though this isn't exactly an early retirement situation, I feel like there is a lot of knowledge here and there are possibly some parallels in our situations.

So, here's some info.
- My girlfriend came from a wealthy family. She has never had a real full time job, and honestly, I have a hard time seeing her ever having one. She's always busy and finding things to do, but is a bit flighty and see her more as a bounce around part timer or even stay at home mom in the near future. I wish I could change this about her, but I don't think I can. Her income will be minimal in any scenario.
- She would like to pay cash for a house. Partly because we are not married, and so if things don't work out, our names are not together on a mortgage. Also, not paying a mortgage is nice. I am ok with this. She currently lives with me, and I would sell my house and move in with her.
- That leaves about 800k available for investment after house purchase, fees, and a year of taxes and insurance. We are both 29.