Join Early Retirement Today

TIPS instead of MMF
Old 01-24-2010, 06:56 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

TIPS instead of MMF

Hey guys, this is my first post, I'm 19 and I've been investing with Vanguard for 6 months now. I've enjoyed reading the forum, everyone here seems pretty smart and knowledgeable.

I have 2 questions I've been thinking about:

So right now my Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund (VMMXX) is yielding nothing, what would stop someone from using the Vanguard TIPS index (VIPSX) for extra cash until interest rates rise? Both have the same expense ratio, 0.25%, and there aren't any redemption fees for selling before 2 months or anything like that.

Also, when these vanguard funds say there is a minimum initial investment of $3000, can you put that amount into the fund and then withdraw as much of it as you want? Can you put the $3000 in there and then take it all out so that you can then start investing, say $200 per month in the future?

Thanks for the help.
John Galt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!