What do you do for a living?

I am an engineer, work on things that make big mushroom clouds. Starting out was not able to max out the 401k/403b, but did make the contributions and got company matching at minimum. As career progressed I have not only maxed the pre-tax, but also have increased after-tax savings. My guess is near 40% total savings rate currently.

Moving out of high COL CA and to lower COL NM has had a significant effect. I have much lower housing cost (mortgage) than previous. Additionally pay less taxes, so both enable a high after-tax savings rate compared to before. I am in about OMY until retirement, but plan to transition to part-time in spring 2015.

My wife and I are/were both scientists working for smaller biotech companies (DW is still at it, I quit working a while ago). We managed to save on average 50% of our take home pay over the years.

Rule of Thirds: 1/3 to Taxes, 1/3 to Savings, 1/3 to Me.

PhD at 27. Doing Laser Engineering at Megacorp for another 27.5 yrs. Will retire reasonably comfortably in 8-12 months (at about the real "income" - only now composed of pension + 2% annual widthdrawl from savings rather than the roughly equal 1/3 current gross salary).

Mechanical Engineer in a heavy manufacturing industry plant until mid-30's. Worked at several locations. Became Plant Manager, then moved on to the oil and gas industry.

Worked at a top five integrated energy company in corporate for 5 years and got sick of the politics.

Went into oil & gas consulting and got to visit many places that most people here will never go to. Did about 25 years of this nonsense, but it was fun.

Last earnings year (full time = $200K+)

Now just piddling around and doing an occasional consulting gig.

Computer Consultant to large/mid size firms, US and Canada. (SAP and VMware markets)

B-Boatman (Officier/Your Honor)