What does it take to switch

wildcat

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
career fields? I am in an MBA program and still trying to build some solid credentials (i.e. trying to make myself as "employable" as possible). But I have no experience in the field I want to enter and a little over 2 years of experience in a field I don't want to be in again. I find it frustrating to see that I don't qualify for positions I feel I could do with some training. Any suggestions on how to switch career fields? Boy I still get friggin calls for the old one :-/

Once the lady is done with school, I plan on going back to school, and switching career areas too.

I'm not going to fool myself and think that I can start right at the top in my new field, and will accept the fact that switching will require me to fall a bit....but that's ok. Sanity is priceless.

Seems like even the most entry-level position in my target new field require experience.

Reminds me of when I was looking for my first job a few years back, and saw jobs requiring '10 years of .net', and other insane amounts of experience for newly created technology. Kinda funny.

In the end, I don't think it really matters anyways. In your cover letter, phone calls, interviews, etc talk about what you have, and what you can do... not what you lack.

Very true but I wonder if the person on the other end doing the hiring just automatically overlooks people that do not have the experience necessary to do the job. I think some HR departments get so many applicants they just quickly "X" people out without consideration. Networking I suppose the only way to talk to the right person and unfortunately my network is limited (not counting the guys down at the pub :D)

One thing I've noticed in the current (like, last few years) job market is the "must have 5.7 years experience in the widget industry" mindset. I think it is easing a little, but to a great extent it is a function of a buyers' market.