What's your Current Age/Retirement Age/Total working years

Current age: 61.5
Projected/goal retirement age: 62.5
Total working years : 45
I enjoy my job hope I don't miss it. Lots of outside interests.
Very small pension mostly self funded and real estate

Retirement Age: 57
Years Working: 10
Pension: I'll have a pension equal to 1/3 of my salary.

I have been maxing out my 401k and Roth IRA for the past 10 years.

Current age is 58.75.
Retired at age 55.5.
Worked since I was a kid. Newspaper route, etc. Married @ 19... worked full time putting self thru college.
Pension status:
Me: Yes = CalPERS @ 57% of final comp. $53k yr w/ annual COLA of up to 5%
DW Yes = CalPERS of couple of hundred a month. (Worked YEARS as teacher's aide)
Me: Social Security disability of $29k / year
Investments of $500k + House of $350k
Zero debt

modest lifestyle. For example, still have a tv with a PICTURE TUBE. Still works, don't need no stinkin flat screen tv. ONLY indulgence is DW has an '08 BMW Z-4. Mine is an '08 F-150.

Current age is 58.75.
Retired at age 55.5.
Worked since I was a kid. Newspaper route, etc. Married @ 19... worked full time putting self thru college.
Pension status:
Zero debt

modest lifestyle. For example, still have a tv with a PICTURE TUBE. Still works, don't need no stinkin flat screen tv. ONLY indulgence is DW has an '08 BMW Z-4. Mine is an '08 F-150.

CalPERS seems to be in sound fiscal shape but, with the amount of Cali state debt, do you worry about your CalPERS pension?

Current age is 58.75.
Retired at age 55.5.
Pension status:
Zero debt

Wow. Tempted to make editorial comments. Just let me say a lot of people would love to have that sort of income outside saving and investments. May I ask if you also get insurance?

Last edited:
Current age is 60.
I retired at 56.
I worked 38 years.
I have a pension and DW will get one when she retires in june.

I am 48
I have been working full time 27 years and Part time (30 hours/week) for 6 years before that.