Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Quoting a post turns it all into italics - WHY?
Old 11-06-2009, 08:25 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,327
Quoting a post turns it all into italics - WHY?

When I quote a post, it obliterates the formatting and turns it all into italics.

This seems unnecessary, the quote box itself provides the visual feedback that the text is quoted. I just quoted someone who used italics in their message, and my quoting of them loses the emphasis that the OP intended.

Example here - compare my quote of the post with the original text of the post:

In the original ("Count me as one who does see something wrong with this."), the "does" was italicized.

House "Affordable Health Care for America Act"

So, can the quote operation retain the formatting of the OP? I think this would be much better.

Thanks - ERD50
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-06-2009, 08:32 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,113
Yeah. I also dislike not being unable to change formatting such as Bold and Underlining in this process. The only work-around I've found is to retype that portion and delete the original.
__________________

__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 11:16 AM   #3
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 18,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Yeah. I also dislike not being unable to change formatting such as Bold and Underlining in this process. The only work-around I've found is to retype that portion and delete the original.

It doesn't seem to stop me from changing the formatting once I've quoted someone.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 11:24 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
It doesn't seem to stop me from changing the formatting once I've quoted someone.
Yeah. I should have been a little more descriptive. This (the inability to change "Bold" or "underlining") happens when I import text with cut and paste from (for instance) a NYTimes article. Thank goodness I can change the font size. This also happens, I notice, outside of the quote function.

In any event, I have the same complaint as the OP.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 11:54 AM   #5
Administrator
Gumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Yeah. I should have been a little more descriptive. This (the inability to change "Bold" or "underlining") happens when I import text with cut and paste from (for instance) a NYTimes article. Thank goodness I can change the font size. This also happens, I notice, outside of the quote function.

In any event, I have the same complaint as the OP.
I have run a few experiments and determined that you can, in fact, change color, font, underline and bold within quoted material from the post to which you are replying, as well as on "copy and pasted material from the NYT. Like this one from today's NYT

Then, in early evening, Günter Schabowki, a Communist party leader, startled everyone by announcing at a televised news conference that travel restrictions would be loosened and a simple visa procedure introduced to allow East Germans to visit the West. Asked when, he (poorly briefed, as we now know) fumbled: “Immediately.”

I have not yet unlocked the secret as to why quoted posts appear in italics, nor how to work around that.
__________________
Living an analog life in the Digital Age.
Gumby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 11:56 AM   #6
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,684
From the NY Times,

Quote:
Justices Weigh Life in Prison for Youths Who Never Killed
By ADAM LIPTAK



Published: November 7, 2009
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — There are just over 100 people in the world serving sentences of life without the possibility of parole for crimes they committed as juveniles in which no one was killed. All are in the United States. And 77 of them are here in Florida.
I didn't really have any problem in bolding and underlining in the above, which I copied/pasted from www.nytimes.com . The only problem that I had was that I had to delete some advertising that I picked up when I did it (between the title and the article).

Edited to add: Ah!! Gumby and I had the same thought. GMTA
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:30 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Want2retire View Post
From the NY Times,
I didn't really have any problem in bolding and underlining in the above, which I copied/pasted from www.nytimes.com . The only problem that I had was that I had to delete some advertising that I picked up when I did it (between the title and the article).

Edited to add: Ah!! Gumby and I had the same thought. GMTA
Okay, I am still explaining it poorly. I was unable to (quickly) find the article from your link but...

I have the problem when the imported text is already formatted in "Bold" and "Underlining." I have no problem formating the imported text itself (except for the unformating of imported Bold and/or underlined text.)

I don't have time right now to pursue it further... I will capture what takes place the next time it happens.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:37 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Okay, I am still explaining it poorly. I was unable to (quickly) find the article from your link but...

I have the problem when the imported text is already formatted in "Bold" and "Underlining." I have no problem formating the imported text itself (except for the unformating of imported Bold and/or underlined text.)

I don't have time right now to pursue it further... I will capture what takes place the next time it happens.
I know what you are talking about. Some stuff quoted from external sites seems to have 'sticky' formatting. It happens sporadically, so I won't be able to duplicate it until I see it happen. I have a theory though - the font used might be one that only has a bold version. I've noticed that with some fonts on my Mac - so you can't un-bold them since there is no related 'regular' font (I guess, I don't really understand font management).

If I really needed a work-around, I copy the text into a word processor, convert it to plain text, then paste into the forum, then choose the font and formatting I need. Whew (easier done than typed)!

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:17 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
This (the inability to change "Bold" or "underlining") happens when I import text with cut and paste from (for instance) a NYTimes article. Thank goodness I can change the font size. This also happens, I notice, outside of the quote function.
I believe you can wipe out most formatting by highlighting the text and clicking on the "remove format" button shown below. It doesn't address the italics issue (I have no clue on that one) but it will allow you to then modify the text as you wish (remove bold, etc.) .
Attached Images
File Type: gif removeformat.gif (114 Bytes, 30 views)
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:20 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
I believe you can wipe out most formatting by highlighting the text and clicking on the "remove format" button shown below. It doesn't address the italics issue (I have no clue on that one) but it will allow you to then modify the text as you wish (remove bold, etc.) .
Oh! That makes sense. That icon was hidden on my computer, I guess, although it is in full view now.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:56 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Oh! That makes sense. That icon was hidden on my computer, I guess, although it is in full view now.
Actually, I don't think that works with certain kinds of fonts/formatting. I know I tried it as I do use that button from time to time. Some formatting just stubbornly seems to resist being "unformatted".



But it seems rare, I can't dup it with the few sites I tried, just gonna have to remember to post here when/if it happens again.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 01:10 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Actually, I don't think that works with certain kinds of fonts/formatting. I know I tried it as I do use that button from time to time. Some formatting just stubbornly seems to resist being "unformatted".

But it seems rare, I can't dup it with the few sites I tried, just gonna have to remember to post here when/if it happens again.
Even more interesting, I just had it happen when responding to another post. Then I couldn't duplicate it when posting to this thread. I tried both with a "new" post and with a "quote" one doing exactly what I did earlier -- no joy.

I give up.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:11 PM   #13
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,770
I'm fairly certain the italicized text in the quote box is hard coded and I don't think you can change it using text formatting options. We do some research about a change but I'm not sure this will be possible or practical - still worth a look
__________________

__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Madonna Turns 50 Purron Other topics 43 08-18-2008 03:01 PM
Turns on a dime... REWahoo Other topics 13 02-01-2008 09:47 AM
Quoting Buffet boont FIRE and Money 7 07-08-2006 08:33 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.