Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2009, 11:47 AM   #201
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,312
SWR
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2009, 11:48 AM   #202
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,312
Pasfjpqkj aplkj aewwefj wepjwepjwe vdsnweojqerorvqe oej vqr
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:48 AM   #203
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,649
Thanks, ERD50.

It looks like the problem has been resolved. (edited to add: well, THAT one! )
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:49 AM   #204
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,312
Hah! It converted the one with LOTS OF CAPS. (BTW, I put LOTS OF CAPS in CAPS on this post).

So, it seems like it only converts if it sees a LOT OF SHOUTING.

I hate it when SW tries to 'help' with no indication of what it is or isn't going to do .

edit/add - just to be clear - my post #202 was ALL CAPS

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:50 AM   #205
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Hah! It converted the one with LOTS OF CAPS. (BTW, I put LOTS OF CAPS in CAPS on this post).
Well, it sounds like I was on the right track, anyway...
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:51 AM   #206
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,649
You mean that if you just shout in all caps like this, the post is then converted to all small letters? I really wonder if that is happening, so i am typing on and on and on just to check it out.

Edited to add: Yes! It did convert my post to all small letters. The previous was originally written all in caps.

Posts that are all in caps are pretty tedious, and I am not sure this is a bad thing at all!
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 03:18 PM   #207
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,128
SWR
__________________
Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 03:18 PM   #208
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,128
Not shouting, just testing

Note: Interesting, that was all caps.
__________________
Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 03:42 PM   #209
Moderator Emeritus
Bestwifeever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15,312
now if we could just get all lower case. to convert. to sentence case. we would be in case heaven.
__________________
“Do act mysterious. It always keeps them coming back for more.”
Bestwifeever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:23 PM   #210
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 5,706
I have a question. I was just looking at my Thanks messages, and I have a couple from 5/6 that are showing up with N/A in the thread name. Does this mean the thread got deleted? Or the post? Or is it something else? Not a big deal, just curious. Thanks.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 07:30 PM   #211
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by harley View Post
Does this mean the thread got deleted? Or the post?
Yep.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 04:22 PM   #212
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Moemg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota,fl.
Posts: 9,452
I am not seeing avatars or edit or quote buttons in Firefox when I switch to Internet explorer they show up ?? Help !
__________________
Moemg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #213
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,942
I'm seeing all of them in Firefox. Are you using Adblock Plus? If so, check your settings as that can cause the situation you describe.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:05 PM   #214
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Moemg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota,fl.
Posts: 9,452
Thanks , I'll check that out !
__________________
Moemg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:41 PM   #215
Recycles dryer sheets
LoftyNotions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Billings
Posts: 96
I'm getting the message "The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 1 characters." when I try to post. Any idea how to get around it?

Thanks,

Larry
__________________
LoftyNotions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:46 PM   #216
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,770
That's odd. Is it happening often? Do you have text in the reply editor when this happens?
__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:57 PM   #217
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,649
If you quote a previous message, and then type your response inside that quotation, it will result in that message. For example,

Quote:
If this is the previous poster's message, that you have quoted in order to put it in your post,

and, if this bolded response is your response and is typed inside the quote,

then if you don't add anything before or after the quote you will get that message.
Don't ask me how I know... The software assumes that you have added nothing original since there is nothing before or after the quote.
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 04:05 PM   #218
Recycles dryer sheets
LoftyNotions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Billings
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H View Post
That's odd. Is it happening often? Do you have text in the reply editor when this happens?
Hi Janet,

I've had it happen in 2 different posts just using quick reply. The latest one was the SS gap poll and I did have text in the box.

It failed several times before I shut down the forum session and then opened it back up and posted here.

After I posted here I went back to the SS gap thread and was able to post a reply. I was just wondering if anyone else had that problem.

Must be a new feature of Internet Explorer 8.

Larry
__________________
LoftyNotions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 04:16 PM   #219
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoftyNotions View Post

Must be a new feature of Internet Explorer 8.

Larry

A good supposition.

We haven't had any other reports like this although there is always a chance that you are a trend setter. In general I would suggest deleting your temp files and cookies, restarting and seeing if that fixes the trouble. If it continues or we have more reports we'll try to develop a plan b. In the meantime I'm sorry that you are having trouble.
__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:23 PM   #220
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Want2retire View Post
If you quote a previous message, and then type your response inside that quotation, it will result in that message. For example,



Don't ask me how I know... The software assumes that you have added nothing original since there is nothing before or after the quote.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoftyNotions View Post
Hi Janet,

I've had it happen in 2 different posts just using quick reply. The latest one was the SS gap poll and I did have text in the box.

It failed several times before I shut down the forum session and then opened it back up and posted here.

After I posted here I went back to the SS gap thread and was able to post a reply. I was just wondering if anyone else had that problem.

Must be a new feature of Internet Explorer 8.

Larry

I'm pretty sure it is as W2R described. I have had it happen to me a time or two, thought I was going nuts, but yes, it was operator (me) error (of course, I may still be going nuts, but for other reasons).

Make sure you have actually added a line of text outside the quotes.


-ERD50
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just bought VFINX today AirJordan FIRE and Money 113 12-19-2007 07:17 AM
accident report not admissable in new york mathjak107 Other topics 13 06-01-2007 12:00 PM
World Wealth Report or 8.7 Million High-Net-Worth Individuals Worldwide Spacebär FIRE and Money 5 07-01-2006 09:40 AM
Scrolling Software for Touchpads Cut-Throat Other topics 5 02-15-2005 04:36 PM
Anyone Using Portfolio Optimization Software? Bob_Smith FIRE and Money 1 11-24-2003 01:27 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.