Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
"stopped" and firefox 3
Old 06-20-2008, 11:37 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
"stopped" and firefox 3

I thought I saw a thread on this, but danged if I can find it after 3 seconds of searching.

Using FF3 I'm having no troubles with any other sites but this one. When I do a 'user cp' or search function, I get the resulting page for .2 seconds, then it goes blank, I see 'stopped' in the lower left corner and the cursor spins indicating some sort of processing/wait. It will sit like this indefinitely.

Hitting backspace brings up the proper page correctly.

Its like it does it, then goes to do something else and that bamboozles firefox 3.
__________________

__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2008, 11:39 AM   #2
Moderator
Sarah in SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 13,384
Ditto for me, only this site is a problem, and it hangs up just like CFB said.
Technical sorts....helloooooooo.....
__________________

__________________
“One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.”
Gerard Arthur Way

Sarah in SC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 11:47 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by cute fuzzy bunny View Post
I thought I saw a thread on this, but danged if I can find it after 3 seconds of searching.
Here you go...

Firefox 3.0
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 11:49 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Oh I know its there. I just havent started a thread in a while.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:17 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Goonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North-Central Illinois
Posts: 3,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by cute fuzzy bunny View Post
Its like it does it, then goes to do something else and that bamboozles firefox 3.
Maybe the new Firefox goes looking for the bacon thread.
__________________
Goonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:31 PM   #6
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
Ok, I am trying to reproduce this, just installed FF 3 and cannot get it to happen. Could someone here who is affected, please paste a link where this happens to them.
__________________
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:45 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,941
I can't reproduce it at the moment. Seems to be an occasional problem. Next time it happens I'll try to capture the information and let you know...
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:46 PM   #8
Moderator
Sarah in SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 13,384
Mine just stopped, and it just has the regular url for the website at the top and Stopped in the lower left corner. It seems to happen when you are going back and forth from the portal to the threads. I have a screen shot, but it doesn't seem like it would help much.
__________________
“One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.”
Gerard Arthur Way

Sarah in SC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:54 PM   #9
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah in SC View Post
Mine just stopped, and it just has the regular url for the website at the top and Stopped in the lower left corner. It seems to happen when you are going back and forth from the portal to the threads. I have a screen shot, but it doesn't seem like it would help much.
Right now, a screenshot would be 500% more than what I have to go on right now..
__________________
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:56 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah in SC View Post
Mine just stopped, and it just has the regular url for the website at the top and Stopped in the lower left corner.
My experience is a blank page, 'stopped' in the lower left corner, and some strange, abbreviated info in the url.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 01:18 PM   #11
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
Starting to see a pattern here:

3.0 has numerous rendering issues

Firefox3 keeps crashing and won't load most pages first time (Including this forum!)

Basic troubleshooter:

Basic Troubleshooting
__________________
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 04:00 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central, Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,594
I have been using ff for a long time. It did not happen even with the Betas, RC1, 2 & 3 and it ONLY HAPPENS HERE (to me). I have tried to get it to crash on other sites and have been unable to duplicate it there. It happens here when I an switching between pages in a thread. Also get some weird formatting when going to "New Posts". Workarounds are to either click New Posts again or even leave the site and come back. Someone indicated they thought it was coming from the embedded advertisements.
__________________
Vietnam Veteran, CW4 USA, Retired 1979
OAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 04:03 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
retire@40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,669
I'm using Firefox/2.0.0.14 and am having no problems lately.

I'm also still using an old DOS program on Windows XP with no problems.

Sometimes it pays to be on the trailing edge.
__________________
No man is free who is not master of himself. --- Epictetus
Enjoy Yourself (It's Later Than You Think). --- Guy Lombardo
retire@40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 04:04 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by OAG View Post
It did not happen even with the Betas, RC1, 2 & 3 and it ONLY HAPPENS HERE (to me).
Same with me. I've experienced the problem only here, never on any other site.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 04:29 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Same with me. I've experienced the problem only here, never on any other site.
Same. I get lockups for 2 to 15 seconds. Random no particular reason. No problems at other sites.
__________________
Notmuchlonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 05:06 PM   #16
Full time employment: Posting here.
DRiP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 546
I've been all over the 'net with the new FF3.0, and not had any issues until coming here, and I have had blank page hang also.

I think the idea it has to do with an advert looking for cached content that isn't there, or that is adblocked or something is plausible.

Again, only seems to happen here.
__________________
DRiP Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 08:43 PM   #17
Recycles dryer sheets
boilerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Closing Firefox and then restarting fixed it for me. It's the first thning mentioned on the Firefox 3 troubleshooting page.
__________________
boilerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:23 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Same with me. I've experienced the problem only here, never on any other site.
Same here, and I do get around a little.

So far its good this evening...
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:47 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
The screenshot of doom...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ff3.JPG (85.7 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 10:55 AM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,149
It just happened to me for the first time and I got a screen cap. When I hovered the mouse over the Firefox tab, it gave more info for the link, but that did not show up in the screen cap. You can see I wasn't trying to go to User CP, I was going to the "bug bite" thread.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ER stopped page.jpg (101.6 KB, 3 views)
__________________

__________________
Sue J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Gut feel" versus "evidence-based" medicine Buckeye Health and Early Retirement 10 11-08-2007 10:21 AM
My "Core Plus" Strategy - Feedback on the "Plus" part? milmoose Young Dreamers 24 11-01-2006 09:41 AM
Anyone notice "Osama" sounds like "Obama" ? Mr._johngalt Other topics 50 10-29-2006 05:41 AM
Book reports: "Blink" & "Tipping Point" Nords Other topics 2 12-04-2005 04:15 PM
"Your" Ideas are worth "Millions"!!! AJL FIRE and Money 14 10-11-2005 12:36 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.