Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Why Doesn't A Soapbox O.Post SHow When You Float Over It?
Old 11-08-2008, 02:44 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,810
Why Doesn't A Soapbox O.Post SHow When You Float Over It?

I usually float over the original post leading in a thread, to see if I might want to look further. This doesn't work in the saopbox-why not?

The effect this has on me is that I rarely read the soapbox- not because there is nothing valuable there, but because I can't get a little preview.

Ha
__________________

__________________
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-08-2008, 02:52 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Rich_by_the_Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8,827
Works for me, Ha.
__________________

__________________
Rich
San Francisco Area
ESR'd March 2010. FIRE'd January 2011.

As if you didn't know..If the above message contains medical content, it's NOT intended as advice, and may not be accurate, applicable or sufficient. Don't rely on it for any purpose. Consult your own doctor for all medical advice.
Rich_by_the_Bay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 02:57 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,810
I guess. How odd.

HA
__________________
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 03:16 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
CuppaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At The Cafe
Posts: 6,869
It might not show if you have OP on ignore.
__________________
CuppaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:04 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ladelfina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,713
Sometimes the preview doesn't work for me if I have already previewed something in the list of new posts. A click on a neutral area often re-sets this, and the new mouseover will show the preview.

I have not noticed that the lack of preview has any correlation to the post's home sub-forum.
__________________
ladelfina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:22 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_in_Tampa View Post
Works for me, Ha.
Does not work for me either. Works fine for the other posts.

BTW, I view from the PORTAL, maybe that is the diff? OK, I just tried, and it DOES work from a forum view. But I usually view the portal.

I noticed it early on - I actually thought it was intentional to try to de-prioritize the SoapBox, so I never questioned it.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:09 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Does not work for me either. Works fine for the other posts.

BTW, I view from the PORTAL, maybe that is the diff? OK, I just tried, and it DOES work from a forum view. But I usually view the portal.

I noticed it early on - I actually thought it was intentional to try to de-prioritize the SoapBox, so I never questioned it.

-ERD50
This is how I approach also- through the portal. None of the things others have mentioned apply to my difficulty. It is exactly like ERD50. In the portal view, floating over the thread does not show any text, while it does in non-soapbox areas. Like ERD50 I thought perhaps this came from a deliberate tuning in response to over-developed sensitivities.

Ha
__________________
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:43 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
CuppaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At The Cafe
Posts: 6,869
Now I see what you mean. I'm sure an admin. will come along and explain it or see about fixing it.
__________________
CuppaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,075
If you are using the Portal --- The site is not generating title tags in the href links for the soapbox. It does for the other forums links. (i.e., the hoover captions)


However, if you go directly to the soapbox forum the hoover captions are present.


The portal has a bug... or the person coding hack it did not do it consistently.


The portal and forum pages were coded differently. Someone did the quick and dirty on the portal. Typical of PHP cr@pware.


Andy - I will send you a bill for my $300/hr consulting fee.
__________________
chinaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:02 PM   #10
Administrator
Andy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,175
This has been fixed.

It was an option in the Portal software to turn it on/off. Just to be fair to the "PHP cr@pware" the software was working, it was just configuration that needed to be tweaked.

Nice to know that people actually use some of these features. Keep the feedback coming...
__________________
Lagom är bäst - Enough is as good as a feast - There is virtue in moderation
Andy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:06 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy R View Post
This has been fixed.

It was an option in the Portal software to turn it on/off. Just to be fair to the "PHP cr@pware" the software was working, it was just configuration that needed to be tweaked.

Nice to know that people actually use some of these features. Keep the feedback coming...

No Offense.
__________________
chinaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 02:54 PM   #12
gone traveling
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,864
And I thought it had just been:

======="SANITIZED FOR YOUR PROTECTION"==========
__________________
Westernskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:57 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,810
Yeah, it works now. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.