Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
A bug?
Old 12-24-2006, 02:23 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
RASAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 53
A bug?

In the "How is it Invested" tab of the advanced version, the entry for expense ratio does not seem to affect the outcome if the "mixed portfolio" option is selected. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________

__________________
My wife asked, "What I was going to do today?"
I said, "Nothing".
She said, "You did that yesterday".
I said, "I know, I wasn't finished."
RASAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: A bug?
Old 12-24-2006, 03:55 PM   #2
Early-Retirement.org Founder
Developer of FIRECalc
dory36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,826
Re: A bug?

Yep -- a bug for that specific calculation. Fixed early 12/24. Thanks for catching it.
__________________

__________________
Often uninformed, seldom undecided.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. Mark Twain
dory36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-08-2007, 12:22 PM   #3
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 577
Re: A bug?

dory, when I used firecalc just now, I entered my starting portfolio value, but firecalc is working the numbers as if I put in 0 for my starting portfolio.

I never had that problem before.

FYI, I use Firefox on Mac 10.3.9

kate
__________________
kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-08-2007, 10:30 PM   #4
Early-Retirement.org Founder
Developer of FIRECalc
dory36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,826
Re: A bug?

Can you elaborate? I am not seeing anything fifferent...
__________________
Often uninformed, seldom undecided.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. Mark Twain
dory36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-10-2007, 12:42 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 577
Re: A bug?


Dory,

It was under "how much is invested".

At or near the top I filled in my portfolio balance.

When I clicked the submit button, the next page worked the numbers as if I put in 0 for my starting balance. Like, trying to take 4% of 0.

I hadn't had the problem before, and I haven't been back to try again. It happened several times one morning, all in a row.

Not sure how to explain it any better!

kate
__________________
kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-10-2007, 08:38 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
wabmester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,459
Re: A bug?

kate, are you using commas in your input? If so, don't.
__________________
wabmester is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-11-2007, 04:46 AM   #7
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 577
Re: A bug?

could be!

whatever it was didn't happen today!

kate
__________________
kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: A bug?
Old 01-11-2007, 04:56 PM   #8
Early-Retirement.org Founder
Developer of FIRECalc
dory36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,826
Re: A bug?

Hmmm... I didn't change anything worked really hard to fix this for you!
__________________

__________________
Often uninformed, seldom undecided.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. Mark Twain
dory36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug Report SoonIHope FIRECalc support 2 08-27-2006 06:42 PM
what's that bug? ladelfina Other topics 8 07-08-2006 02:18 AM
Minor Bug Report modlair FIRECalc support 1 05-19-2006 09:03 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.