Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Investigate options not working?
Old 08-14-2019, 09:39 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Investigate options not working?

Hello,


New poster here, I was trying to explore all the options of the Calc and can't seem to use anything but the default 'investigate' choice. The other ones simply don't display any graph or data.
Tried 'expense ratio', 'portfolio allocation', and 'year of retirement'.... is there a trick to getting those to work?
Using Firefox with a number of extensions, but all the blockers are disabled.


thanks!
__________________

vianney is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-14-2019, 09:57 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,617
I think you may have to enable Flash. Some people / browsers disable Flash because it can be a security concern.
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 10:14 AM   #3
Full time employment: Posting here.
USGrant1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: DC area
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
I think you may have to enable Flash. Some people / browsers disable Flash because it can be a security concern.
It is not just some browsers - Adobe is terminating Flash as of next year. I hope the heck that FIRECalc gets updated, but unfortunately it seems unlikely.

EDIT - here's the link https://theblog.adobe.com/adobe-flash-update/
__________________
FI and Semi-ER March 24, 2017
Consulting to stay engaged

"All models are wrong, some are useful." - George Box
USGrant1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 11:55 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 21,575
Agree that is is probably a flash issue. I'm on Linux, and there are some restrictions on Flash. I noticed that some of the investigate options don't provide a graphical output. The basic graph works though.

I was looking for an old thread/post where Andy (site owner) was looking into updating FIRECalc and asked for inputs, but I think he decided the quotes he was getting for the work were just too high. I don't think we've seen any feature updates, or even bug fixes in years, just an annual data update.

-ERD50
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:13 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Agree that is is probably a flash issue. I'm on Linux, and there are some restrictions on Flash. I noticed that some of the investigate options don't provide a graphical output. The basic graph works though.

I was looking for an old thread/post where Andy (site owner) was looking into updating FIRECalc and asked for inputs, but I think he decided the quotes he was getting for the work were just too high. I don't think we've seen any feature updates, or even bug fixes in years, just an annual data update.

-ERD50
If Andy wanted me to do it, I probably could figure out something. I'm FIREd and would do it largely for the community karma, so my quote would be real cheap.

(Former software/firmware developer for two Fortune 500 companies.)
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turning Off "Optional: Investigate" Options BigFoot48 FIRECalc support 2 12-26-2013 09:15 AM
A question about the Investigate tab in FireCalc kyounge1956 FIRE and Money 4 03-06-2013 11:43 PM
FIReCalc "Investigate" tab spreadsheets bigfoot FIRECalc support 0 07-12-2010 12:24 PM
bug in "Investigate" tab? DayDreaming FIRECalc support 6 02-02-2009 02:12 PM
Hurray! Grassley to investigate Bear paper RockOn FIRE and Money 37 03-30-2008 10:55 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.