Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unable to go backward
Old 09-04-2011, 10:11 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 391
Unable to go backward

Well, when I use Firecalc it give me a result, but if I want to go back and change an item, it takes the change, but then won't give another result (just says, "Done" on the bottom of the screen). Is this supposed to happen? Or is it a Mac thing? On one of our computers, it complains that the browser is old, but at work after I updated the browser, it still did the same thing. Thanks for advice.
__________________

__________________
palomalou is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-05-2011, 01:55 AM   #2
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by palomalou View Post
Well, when I use Firecalc it give me a result, but if I want to go back and change an item, it takes the change, but then won't give another result (just says, "Done" on the bottom of the screen). Is this supposed to happen? Or is it a Mac thing? On one of our computers, it complains that the browser is old, but at work after I updated the browser, it still did the same thing. Thanks for advice.
I tried to duplicate the problem, but couldn't. My browser is MSIE 9. As far as I know, Macs can use FIRECalc too. What happens if you close the initial results window, but not the original window, make your changes, and continue?
__________________

__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 09:23 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 391
W2R, that is what I do now, and it takes the changes, but will not give a result window. There is a workaround which I've been using: I have to make a note of every input so I can close the browser, reopen browser, input all the same numbers except change the year to sell house and "retire."
The same scenario happens if I go to "investigate." Only one investigation can occur, then the whole thing goes dead. I use Firefox and Safari with the same result.
__________________
palomalou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 09:35 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Works for me, but I don't see "done" anywhere on the screen - can you take a screenshot and post that.

Also, try W2R's suggestion, and close the old results window - your browser may be trying to open another window, and that is being blocked or you don't notice it - or it is updating the 'old' window, and you didn't notice that it changed?

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 10:09 AM   #5
Administrator
Gumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,137
I am using a Mac with Safari browser. I have my pop-up blocker enabled. When I get the results page with the squiggly graph, it says in the upper left corner "close the results window". Clicking on that sends me to the last input page I was on, with the input values retained. If I want, I can then change one of the input values and hit the "submit" button again to get a new results page.

I also tried just closing the results window with the red button like any other page. Again it leaves the last input page, from which I can tab to where I want to make a change and resubmit.

I note that once on the results page, the "page back" left arrow button is not enabled (i.e. it's gray).
__________________
Living an analog life in the Digital Age.
Gumby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 10:15 AM   #6
Administrator
Gumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post

Also, try W2R's suggestion, and close the old results window - your browser may be trying to open another window, and that is being blocked or you don't notice it - or it is updating the 'old' window, and you didn't notice that it changed?

-ERD50
This may well be the issue. I just tried to have two results windows open simultaneously by shrinking the first and then clicking on the existing input page and resubmitting. It crashed my system.
__________________
Living an analog life in the Digital Age.
Gumby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 11:33 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 391
Thanks! Yes, when I closed the old results window with the green banner "close window" it works! I had been using the red circle before.
__________________

__________________
palomalou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fix whatever ails you haha Health and Early Retirement 18 02-20-2012 11:06 PM
Career advice to a young worker Frugalityisthenewblack Other topics 30 02-19-2012 10:55 AM
Time for Credit Score to Update to Refinance inquisitive FIRE and Money 1 02-19-2012 10:40 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.