Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
What is the meaning of this chart in Firecalc?
Old 05-11-2017, 02:42 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,799
What is the meaning of this chart in Firecalc?

I was playing around with Firecalc a few months ago and again today.

When using the "Investigate" tab to find a spending level with a 95% success rate, I got this output below. (This is based on fake input numbers, btw.)

This is a "plot of the success rate of this spending rate (in the center), and a few that are smaller and larger" and "The vertical axis shows the success.". I can't figure out this chart.
  • I have no idea what the gold and gray bars are supposed to represent.
  • There's no label on the vertical axis (percentages, possibly?). I do not see any correlation to the 95% success rate of $181.6K in the verbiage portion.
  • The horizontal axis appears to be years...(but what is the particular significance of years 2003, 2004, and 2005?)

Can someone please clarify this for me?

omni
Save
SaveSave
Save
Save
Attached Images
File Type: png firecalc.png (186.4 KB, 83 views)
__________________

omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-11-2017, 02:56 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,567
I have used the Investigate tab in the past. It used to provide a very different chart than the one in your screengrab.

The one it used to provide - sorry I don't have a picture - was a line graph with spending levels on the X axis and percent success rate on the Y axis. It could also provide a similar chart when investigating investment allocations, where the X axis represented stock allocations between 0% and 100% and they Y axis again represented success percentages - for 40 year cycles these graphs typically were a curve with a maximum around 90% stocks.

The one in your screen grab makes no sense to me whatever. I think it is a bug in FIREcalc that has been introduced in the last year or so.
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 03:45 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 21,495
Something has changed (though it might be my computer), but I used to get what SecondCor521 describes. Now I get "plug in not supported", but the default graph still displays.

-ERD50
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:03 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,567
Ran it just now as follows:

Windows 8.1
Chrome 59.something
FIRECalc: A different kind of retirement calculator
Investigate tab
Clicked on "investigate spending level" radio button
Submit

And got the attached (after I let Flash run).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg results.jpg (249.8 KB, 59 views)
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:18 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 45,328
Like SecondCor, I ran the program using Windows 7 and Chrome and got a line graph like his. OP, what system are you using?
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:37 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Bestwifeever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17,454
Numbers is hard.
__________________
“Would you like an adventure now, or would you like to have your tea first?” J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan
Bestwifeever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:38 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 45,328
And sometime them charts f*rts...
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:39 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Like SecondCor, I ran the program using Windows 7 and Chrome and got a line graph like his. OP, what system are you using?
WIN10 and Firefox browser.
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:40 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 45,328
What happens if you run it using another browser?

Edit: Just ran it using Win 7 and FireFox and got the line graph.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:46 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 42,461
I'm running Windows 10 with the Edge browser (OK, I know, I'm just playing around with Edge).

Here's what I got.

I noticed that that particular graph relies on Adobe Flash. I had to give it permission to use that before I could see any graph at all. Maybe the Adobe software needs to be updated?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (24.5 KB, 35 views)
__________________
"D*** THE TORPEDOES, FULL SPEED AHEAD!"

--- Admiral David Farragut during the battle of Mobile Bay, paraphrased
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:54 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 42,461
Here's why I know Adobe Flash is used for this chart. After seeing clicking on the first graphic I got the second one. After clicking "Allow once" on that, I got the nice line chart seen in my post just above this one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture2.JPG (24.8 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (29.0 KB, 29 views)
__________________
"D*** THE TORPEDOES, FULL SPEED AHEAD!"

--- Admiral David Farragut during the battle of Mobile Bay, paraphrased
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:22 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
What happens if you run it using another browser?

Edit: Just ran it using Win 7 and FireFox and got the line graph.
That seemed to fix the issue.

Here's the results page with WIN10 and Internet Explorer (using fake data.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iefirecalc.JPG (124.2 KB, 25 views)
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:35 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,799
I recently updated Adobe Acrobat (on May 9). Does anyone know if that includes Flash?

omni
Attached Images
File Type: jpg adobe..JPG (36.1 KB, 24 views)
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 12:02 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
I recently updated Adobe Acrobat (on May 9). Does anyone know if that includes Flash?

omni
I don't believe so. Both made by Adobe, but two different products.
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 08:09 AM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,799
I just downloaded Adobe Flash and reran Firecalc using my default items (WIN10 and Firefox).

W2R was right ...updating Adobe Flash is what was required.

Here's the latest results page (using fake input data, again).

Thanks for the help, everyone!

omni
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Attached Images
File Type: jpg firecalcCapture.JPG (117.9 KB, 18 views)
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 08:32 AM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 9,001
I do wish we could get away from using Flash for charts and anything else. It has to many security problems. I don't see any charts since I removed Flash from my computers a while back.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 09:21 AM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 42,461
Omni, I am so glad the problem is gone now! Thanks for letting us know.
__________________
"D*** THE TORPEDOES, FULL SPEED AHEAD!"

--- Admiral David Farragut during the battle of Mobile Bay, paraphrased
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 10:21 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by W2R View Post
Omni, I am so glad the problem is gone now! Thanks for letting us know.
Good job, W2R
__________________

tmm99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firecalc excel export does not match chart mrWinter FIRECalc support 0 03-27-2017 11:40 AM
whole new meaning to @#$@ like rabbits gtmeouttahere Other topics 17 05-29-2006 11:37 AM
New Skills You've Been Meaning To Learn Danny Other topics 41 04-11-2006 03:01 PM
Meaning of "Fixed Income" TromboneAl FIRE and Money 4 11-01-2005 10:16 AM
meaning of calculated portfolio balance karlwk FIRE and Money 3 12-20-2004 11:48 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.