Join Early Retirement Today

Blood Pressure Experiments
Old 04-30-2013, 10:57 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Blood Pressure Experiments

This is a followup to a post I made a year ago:

http://www.early-retirement.org/foru...ies-60360.html

I've been measuring my blood pressure in a standard way for almost two years now, experimenting with different supplements, strategies, etc. I'll write things up in more detail at some point, but here are my initial conclusions.

First, I found that BP experiments are hard, because measurements are so variable (partly due to the monitor), and it may take weeks or months to see the results of a particular treatment. To deal with that I measured frequently, and tried to keep treatments constant for a long period.

My approach was to initially hit the BP problem with everything I could think of (low salt, high potassium, magnesium, meditation, etc.), then eliminate things to see what caused the BP to rise again. I started the shotgun approach on Jan 26, 2012.

The data points represent an average of the last five BP measurements. Thus one unusually high or low measurement can cause a spike.

To reduce variability, I'd always measure right after waking in the morning, and would wait exactly 1.5 minutes after sitting down to take the measurement. This overestimates my BP -- if I do it later in the day, waiting a full five minutes, I usually get a lower value.

As you can see, I got the BP down significantly. Some of the subsequent ups and downs are related to eliminating or adding something, but there's a lot of unrelated variability.

Drastically reducing sodium and increasing potassium had a pretty clear effect, and following Jan 2012 I have continued that.

Calcium was an interesting factor. For me, calcium is extremely constipating, so I was eager to stop taking calcium. But whenever I'd stop taking it, the BP seemed to go up.