Blood test results - how big a deal?

brewer12345

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I got blood test results that had a few values outside the ideal ranges. Vit D was 21 vs. a usual range of 35 to 150. Fasting blood glucose was 101 vs. 79-99 range. LDLs were 113 vs. max of 100 for the ideal range.

The vitamin D low level is easily fixed via supplements. The other items are a touch high, but look to me like they are barely outside of the ideal ranges and likely remediated via diet changes. When they drew blood I was exhausted after twoo weeks on the road and a very busy weekend catching up on chores in between.

Is this the correct interpretation?

I wouldn't let this make you rush out to prepay your funeral expenses. Your glucose is within the error of the test and not off enough to have you do a glucose tolerance test. I think they came up with the LDL max of 100 by testing malnourished ten year olds. I'm not a doctor. Maybe one of the ones on the forum will pop in and give you a comment. You could always (gasp) talk to your own doctor.

You could always (gasp) talk to your own doctor.

I will be, but they would not do it over the phone (would not get paid that way, dontchaknow) and I simply cannot get in there for a couple more weeks.

What was your HDL? Some research today suggests that LDL or total cholesterol isn't a great indicator in a vacuum, but the ratio of HDL to LDL or the ratio of total cholesterol to HDL might be more relevant. "Borderline high" cholesterol (total or LDL) might be less of a health risk if it also came with high HDL levels.

As for the glucose, some say anything over 100 is leaning toward "prediabetes" and they may want to do an A1C test to confirm it. But it can vary. A few years ago I had a blood panel where my fasting glucose was 104. My doctor mentioned an A1C as optional but I never took it (partially since I wanted to avoid being diagnosed as prediabetic).