Join Early Retirement Today

Do All Health Insurance Companies Use BMI to Calculate Rates?
Old 06-09-2008, 03:38 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Do All Health Insurance Companies Use BMI to Calculate Rates?

I'm not particularly close to retiring yet, but when my wife and I do pull the trigger, we'll need to find private health insurance until we qualify for Medicare. When we bought term life insurance recently, my rate was almost double hers, due to a BMI of >30. According to the charts, a good healthy BMI for me of 22.5 would have me weighing 180lbs at 6'3". I haven't weighed 180lbs since I was 13 or 14 years old. I was ~215 when I graduated high school as a skinny 17-year-old.

I definitely need to lose some weight, but with my frame being what it is, it's unlikely that I'll get my BMI below 27.5 in this lifetime (that would have me at 220lbs). Will insurance companies use body-fat % or some other measure to calculate a fair rate for people who don't "fit" the normal height/frame for BMI?
ProspectiveBum is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!