Join Early Retirement Today

Fish oil (omega3) latest studies
Old 09-04-2013, 07:40 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Fish oil (omega3) latest studies

Hello, has anyone seen the latest studies on fish oil and the link to prostate cancer? They claim to see a 71% increase in prostate cancer and correlates with a previous study. I been taking 2000mg (Costco brand) each day for just over a year because my triglyceride level was 177 (<150 is recommended level). The study scared me enough to stop taking them. I also have a friend that has a prescription for fish oil and his insurance would not cover it when he tried to get a refill. They did not give him an explanation why. Not sure it this is related to the study. I have not gone back yet for my annual physical this year to ask my doctor. I know there is tons of info on the internet, but it hard to sift thru it all and since I have zero medical skills/knowledge I do not know what to believe. I have family history of heart issue so I thought it be a good idea to try to reduce my triglyceride level. My doctor did not deter me when I told him last year I started taking fish oil pills, but he did not prescribe them to me. I wanted to get some thoughts & feedback from other on this forum on this subject.
bradaz2488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!