Join Early Retirement Today

Golf and Bi-Focal Glasses
Old 06-23-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Golf and Bi-Focal Glasses

I think this is a health issue of sorts.

I have been playing golf for about 5 years. I started at age 52. I am pretty fit but not a very good golfer. I usually score between 115 and 120 and disintegrate off the tee and for the long fairway shots, often shanking 5-9 shots per nine holes.

Today I was lamenting my golf game when one of my buddies asked if my glasses are no line bi-focals. I said yes. He said "everyone knows you cannot play golf in bi-focals". I had never heard this.

For those forum members who play: What do you think? Is this true? If it is true, should I get glasses with the distance lens only. or should I get a distance prescription for contacts for playing only (I use to wear contacts but stopped when the combo with reading glasses got too cumbersome). I do not want to waste money if it is not true.

Any thoughts? Zman.
ZMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!