Join Early Retirement Today

Help me with HSA account
Old 12-06-2012, 09:40 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Help me with HSA account

Since Nov 1, the employer changed health insurance from EPO-type to HSA-type with deductible of $4000. Reading around the web gave me a clue that I can 'open HSA account and contribute to it'. This money can be used towards my prescription drugs. Medco is charging me more than what Walmart will for 3 refills of 30-day supply so I would like to minimize these costs.

Can anyone explain me, in a bit didactic fashion, considering I am total noob (because I really am), on
- how and where do I 'open' this account?
- If the contributions to this account have to be made by me and my employer? (I have a family plan, employer pays for me and I pay for the family)
- If these contributions have to be same every month?

Thanks a ton in advance.
noelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-06-2012, 10:01 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post