High Fasting Glucose Level

TromboneAl

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
While getting my cholesterol tested at a mall health fair, I had the glucose level done as well. I had fasted for over 12 hours. It was 118, which is "pre-diabetic."

I don't get this, I am not overweight, and never have been (164 pounds at 5'11" same as high school). For the last two years I've exercised hard six days per week, and before that three days per week. I've always eaten well, and I've been eating a low-carb diet for the last five months.

In 2005 my fasting glucose was 83.

So I have to decide whether to pursue this or figure that it's a bad measurement. This is no fun.

OP:

Have another test done. Maybe, twice more. Could be just a fluke.

I'm a type 2 diabetic, only take med's. Was older, about 57 or 58 when my

numbers jumped. Diabetes runs in my family, so it was no surprise.

In any case, don't worry. If you become diabetic, life is about the same.

With modern glucose monitors, simple pin prick, and test strips, it's easy to test your sugar levels. and figure out what to eat and what to avoid.

Have many useful tips, but it would take to much time right now.

Can't hurt to get tested again.

One thing- you don't have to be fat or out of shape to be diabetic. That is just a rumor floated by those who like to blame the sick person for his malady. Plenty of thin diabetics, and plenty of fat non-diabetics.

Ha

While getting my cholesterol tested at a mall health fair, I had the glucose level done as well. I had fasted for over 12 hours. It was 118, which is "pre-diabetic.

I don't get this, I am not overweight, and never have been (164 pounds at 5'11" same as high school). For the last two years I've exercised hard six days per week, and before that three days per week. I've always eaten well, and I've been eating a low-carb diet for the last five months.
Health fairs are great for my business. For my patients I'm not so sure.