I am seeking olive oil with premium taste

But Whole Foods Olive oil failed the purity test. They've probably fixed that now. When this came out (UC Davis Study 2010/2011) many well respected brands were found to be adulterated.
That is interesting. I wasn't thinking of any particular brand, just something from their store.

Il Fiorella Olive Oil near Fairfield CA near Mankas Corner and Suisun Valley. They have great oils, some flavored if you choose. They do have discounts, and all oil is from local trees. At their suggestion, we purchase during the winter months since heat messes with the stability/bitterness and they ship it back east. Real EEOV should congeal or thicken when chilled.

Under the heading of what it is worth. Generally good quality OO should "burn" at the back of the throat. I am not talking discomfort, but a definite sensation.
I did not know this, and I have been using olive oil for very many years. We had some Greek friends, and they bought case lots of 2 liter cans and we divvied them up. In the past i was only concerned with very fresh fruity taste and green color.

I have never noticed this burn before, but I have never just knocked back olive oil straight up before either. What I am describing I believe is too much acidity, and in doing a bit of reading it seems that this is frequently a flaw in some extra virgin oils.

I bought some California Olive Ranch Arbosana from Amazon today. I did call an oil bar in the public market, but wow, their stuff is like $5 for 50 ml, and if my head is working tonight after my Muscadet, that seems like $100/liter. I would use about 50 ml/day for the sipping, and I can't afford $150/month. Several people suggested other oils than EVOO, and they might be great, but I am sticking with the oil Penelope served to Odysseus when he got home from his trip.

I want to stay with California, because the other places I trust, Germany and Sweden and Holland, don't have olives.