Looking for Feedback - Symfony Lens for Cataract IOL

bobandsherry

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Looking for input from those who have had Symfony lens for cataract IOL.

My Dr. gave me the news that I had expected to hear, time for cataract removal at 55. He gave option from monofocal lens which would be great for distant vision but then need readers. But he then suggested a newer lens, Symfony, which would then give me distant and near vision, including using the computer, without readers.

I've been using readers since having Lasik many years ago, so not a change for me and my habits. But not having readers is appealing.

His said the downside with Symfony is some patients experience seeing halo's at night so nigh driving would be affected. I've had similar experience with night vision since I had Lasik, so if that should occur it seems I've already adapted to that type of experience.

There's obviously a cost difference, about $2K per eye. So for those who have had Symfony lens would you do it again?

Just so you're aware of it, there is another option. You can have one eye fitted with a monofocal lens for distance, the other for near vision. The brain can quickly figure out the situation and you essentially have completely normal vision at all distances (except for really extreme closeup).

Caveat: Some people don't adjust to this very well, others do. It may be worthwhile discussing it with your ophthalmologist.

DW went with this option earlier this year and she is extremely happy with the result.

I had both eyes done, but went with regular lenses. I cannot speak for symfony.

Remember that if you had lasik (as I did), the corneal surface is affected long term, and it's much more difficult for them to get the refractive results spot on. It's a sort of wild card when measuring your optics. He has probably told you this already.

Last edited: