Join Early Retirement Today

Medicare novice here. Questions.
Old 10-15-2018, 07:43 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Medicare novice here. Questions.

I've been on original Medicare for a few years now, with a Plan G Medigap policy, and Part D drug coverage.

I consider myself a novice and I'm still trying to learn the ropes. Luckily, I have been healthy, and haven't gotten past the Plan G deductible yet.

On Aug 15, 2017 I had some minor scalp excision thing done that my doctor took care of in-office. While I was there, the doctor suggested that I get Part 2 of a pneumonia shot, so I agreed. (Part 1 was administered during my first Medicare Wellness Visit in 2016.)

In August 2018, almost a year to the day, I received a bill from the hospital healthcare group to whom my doctor belongs, billing me for $126.11 (captioned "applied to deductible") which I paid after getting over the shock of being billed a year after the office visit. Then last week, I received another bill from the same outfit for the same office visit, this time for $39.00, for administration of the vaccine.

Questions: (Apologies in advance if these sound simplistic, but I've really never had many dealings with medical insurance "stuff".)

1. Is it typical for the billing of an office visit to be so untimely/late?
2. Is it typical to receive for multiple bills for the same visit from the same provider?
3. Do you keep all your paperwork and attempt to reconcile with what is shown on mymedicare.gov?
4. When/how is Medigap provider notified and get involved?
5. Am I supposed to be the checker/coordinator between Doctor/Medicare/Medigap etc.?
6. How do I know when I am finally done with a given claim?
7. When a doctor suggests something like a vaccine or a procedure, do I need call Medicare to find out if they cover it...or do I just go ahead with it and let the chips fall where they may (= most likely $$$ out of my pocket)?